NANTU has 20 staff members, of which 4 are seconded, 15 permanents and 1 temporary. The Head Office is based in Windhoek and 10 regional offices of which 5 are property (Kavango East, Ohangwena , Khomas , Oshana and Omusati which is under construction while 5 are being rented in Karas , Otjozondjupa , Kavango West , Erongo and Oshikoto .

Formed 11th March 1989 at A. Shipena Secondary School in Katutura , Windhoek
Currently, NANTU has ± 18,000 members from approximately 26,000 teachers in the Republic of Namibia. At a monthly basis between 50 and 80 teachers are signing up with NANTU.

Educate to Liberate

NANTU envisages a quality education system to which all Namibians have equal access, derive benefit from and which functions in educational policy and regulatory environment in which the teachers can develop their full potential and perform and deliver to a maximum in the interest of the personal and professional advancement and growth of all Namibia.

Our Mission

NANTU is a national democratic, autonomous, non-sexist, non-racial teachers’ union catering for the professional, social and economic needs of its members and influencing and enhancing the education system

Our Leaders

Haihambo Thomas
Daniel Humbu
Deputy President
Loide Shaanika
Secretary General
Thomas Niilonga
Deputy Secretary General

Our Structures


NTC, NEC, REC and one delegate for each 50 members in good standing.About 400-500 members can be more depending on the members per region.


All 12 NEC members, 13 Regional Chairpersons, 10 elected members by the Congress of which 50% shall be women, 2 appointed by the NTC, one representative from each of the following: UNAM, NUST, IUM, Special Schools, Education Officers, VTC and NIED.


President, Deputy President, Secretary General, Deputy Secretary General, National Treasurer, Deputy National Treasurer, National secretary, deputy National Secretary, Secretary for Gender, Secretary for sports, Secretary for Culture, Community and Students Affairs, Secretary for Marketing and Members’ Benefits.12 members


Secretary-General, Deputy Secretary-General, and two members of the NEC from a Region close to the Head Office.4 members


All 8 members of the Regional Executive Committee, all 8 members of the Branch Executive Committee, and five elected delegates from each branch.8 plus depending on how many branches a region has.


All 8 Regional Executive Committee members, all Branch Chairpersons, and Branch Secretaries.8 plus depending on how many branches a region has.


Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson, Secretary, Deputy Secretary, Treasurer, Organising secretary, and Regional Coordinator for Gender Affairs.8 members


All 8 members of the Branch.4 delegates from each NANTU School Committee.8 plus depending on the number of schools in that specific branch.


Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson, Secretary, Deputy Secretary, Treasurer, Organising secretary, and Branch Coordinator for Gender Affairs.8 members


3 elected members at each school.Chairperson, Secretary, and Treasurer.3 members

Our Specific Objectives Are
To support and pledge solidarity with the workers’ struggle for better working and living conditions.
To promote the welfare of students and to ensure that their fundamental rights are protected at all times.
To run trade union and professional education programs for teachers at national, regional, and local levels.
To campaign for the implementation of a unitary education system in the country.
To have regular information bulletins and newsletters, and to stimulate progressive cultural activities amongst teachers and students.
To seek to contextualize the curriculum, and to strive towards developing alternative forms of teaching that are relevant to our society. To fight for and maintain:
The consequent implementation of English as a medium of instruction in all schools; the unconditional opening of all schools; the implementation of compulsory and free education to the benefit of all.

Our Branches in Namibia

Hover over the markers for more information

Negotiations & Agreements

Subjects for negotiations between the Employer (GRN) and the Union (NANTU) are the following:

Rates of pay including normal and overtime hours, allowances, occupational differentiated adjustments any bonuses

  • Principles and procedures of appointments, promotions, transfers, and discharges.
  • Housing
  • Leave and leave pay including public holidays, annual leave, sick leave, maternity leave, study leave, compassionate leave, special leave to attend union activities, and all other types of leave
  • Hours of work
  • Medical aid schemes
  • Safety measures and health
  • Pension matters
  • Disciplinary and grievance procedures
  • Subsistence and traveling allowances, camp allowances, transfer costs as well as compensation for the use of private transport for official purposes
  • Roles, functions, and duties of workplace representatives
  • Facilities for union representation
  • Procedures for the amendment of the Agreement
  • Mechanism to enforce certain clauses
  • Any other matters relating to terms and conditions of service